Level 2 Award In MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7)

Interested in becoming a qualified class 4 & 7 MOT tester?

The first step in becoming an MOT tester is having an accepted Level 3 qualification/accreditation. If you don’t have this, we offer a Level 3 accreditation in Light Vehicle Inspection (click here to find out more).

If you have achieved a Level 3 qualification or accreditation, the next step is to obtain the Level 2 Award in MOT Testing

Our MOT Training course will be at least 29 hours training over three consecutive days with at least 8 hours practical MOT training.  We will provide you with an eLearning package for you to go over at home before the course starts.

mot testing career

Who might be interested in taking this course?

This qualification is developed for those individuals who wish to become an MOT Tester for classes 4 and 7. Achievement of this qualification enables them to apply to undertake the DVSA final demonstration test, enabling them to become a MOT Tester for classes 4 and 7.


To become an MOT tester for classes 4 and 7 you need to:

  • have an accepted level 3 qualification or accreditation
  • have a current and full UK driving licence for classes 4 & 7
  • be a skilled mechanic with at least four years in full-time employment in the service and repair of the vehicle types to be tested
  • have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation
  • be of good repute

Course Content

The course will cover theory and practical training on being an MOT tester. There are 5 parts to the course:

  • Safe working practices in the vehicle test centre
  • Working relationships within the vehicle test centre
  • Managing your own professional development as an MOT tester
  • Carrying out pre-test checks for an MOT test
  • Carrying out an MOT test