Level 2 Award In MOT Testing (Classes 4 and 7)

This qualification is developed for those individuals who wish to become an MOT Tester for classes 4 and 7.  After you have achieved this qualification you can apply to undertake the DVSA final demonstration test.  Once passed, you become a qualified MOT Tester for classes 4 and 7.  The first step in becoming an MOT tester is to have a Level 3 qualification, if you don’t have this, we offer a Level 3 accreditation in Light Vehicle Inspection (click here to find out more).

Our MOT Training course will be at least 29 hours training over three consecutive days, including at least 8 hours practical training.  In addition, we will provide you with an eLearning package for you to review prior to the course starting.

Course Content

The course will cover theory and practical training on being an MOT tester. There are 5 parts to the course:

  • Safe working practices in the vehicle test centre.
  • Working relationships within the vehicle test centre.
  • Managing your own professional development as an MOT tester.
  • Carrying out pre-test checks for an MOT test.
  • Carrying out an MOT test.
mot testing career


To become an MOT tester for classes 4 and 7 you need to:

  • Have an accepted level 3 qualification or accreditation (Click here for our course)
  • Have a current and full UK driving licence for classes 4 & 7
  • Be a skilled mechanic with at least four years in full-time employment in the service/repair industry
  • Have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation